Campaign reporting has been a feature on Google Ads for a couple of years now, and it has been incredibly helpful for marketing teams.
With campaign reporting, you can create and manage groups of campaigns or ads that have similar goals or objectives. You then generate reports that show the performance of those groups or campaigns and individual ads within those campaigns.
However, there is one problem: the default reporting settings include all campaigns, including non-campaign ads. This means that your campaign reporting will not be as accurate unless you change the default settings.
By changing the settings to only include campaigns with the title “Back to School”, you can ensure that only data from a campaign titled “Back to School” will be included in the reported data.
Filter on ad set name
Filters can be created to only show data for specific ad sets or even for specific campaigns. When creating filters, you can filter by campaign name, ad set name, and even product name!
Ad sets can be renamed, so this filter can be used to show data for ads that have been rebranded. You can also filter by product names to see how your ads are performing compared to other products offered.
Campaigns cannot be renamed, so this filter cannot be used to show data for a campaign that has been rebranded. The other way you could use this filter is to show data for a specific time period, such as back to school sales.
This is just a few ways you could use filters to get more specific with your campaign reporting. To create these filters, go to your Ads Manager and click the button that says “Create a Filter.
Filter on ad name
In Google Ads, you can filter your campaign reports by the ad name. This is a great way to see how your campaigns are performing relative to each other.
For example, you could create a filter that shows only campaigns with the word “back to school” in the ad title. This would show you all the campaigns for products or services related to back to school shopping, such as laptop bags, pencil cases, and notebooks.
You could do this for any season or occasion, such as Christmas or Mother’s Day. Create filters based on keywords in ads and see how your campaigns perform relative to each other!
Another way to use campaign filters is by creating different filters for different times of the year. You could do this by creating a winter filter that includes only Christmas-related campaigns, or you could do this by creating a summer filter that includes only beach-related campaigns.
Include or exclude ads by location
Another way to filter your campaign reports is by the location of the ads that were shown.
If you only want to see the performance of ads shown in a certain area, then this is an easy filter to use. You can filter by country, state, city, and even neighborhood!
This is especially useful if you have ads running internationally. You can see which campaigns performed best in which areas and take note of that for next time.
If you only want to see the performance of ads shown in a certain area, then this is an easy filter to use. You can filter by country, state, city, and even neighborhood!This is especially useful if you have ads running internationally. You can see which campaigns performed best in which areas and take note of that for next time.
Filter on hour of the day
Now that you can filter by campaign, you can also filter by time of day! This is very useful for marketers who want to analyze their performance based on the times of day their ads are running.
For example, if an ad campaign was targeted to audiences in Australia, the advertiser would know that people in Australia are more likely to see their ad during Australian morning and afternoon hours.
They could then re-target audiences based on this knowledge by creating a new campaign targeting Australians that would only run during those hours. This would be very effective advertising!
Using the new feature, you can now filter your reports by the hour of the day your ads were running. You can do this by going to the Campaigns tab, clicking on the gear icon next to the campaign you want to look at, and then selecting “By Hour Of The Day” in the drop-down menu.
Which metrics matter most?
When deciding which campaign reports to run, you should be thinking about which metrics matter most to your business.
If an ad campaign targeted parents with children in school aged 5–10, then the most important metric would be conversions. Conversions could be purchases, downloads, or enquiries depending on your business.
If the campaign was for back to school sales, then average order value would be the most important metric. Running a report only for this campaign on this metric would show how successful the ad campaign was at getting people to purchase items from your store.
Running all campaigns for all campaigns at the same time will give you a lot of data, but it may not be as useful as running only the ones that matter to your business.
What should the scope of the report be?
In addition to campaign level reports, you can create report segments by choosing a specific campaign, period of time (date range), or target audience (device). You can also choose to include or exclude ad sets in your report segments.
Report segments can be created for any of these options and then further refined by date range, campaign, or device. For example, you could create a report segment for all campaigns run in September that included only smartphones as the targeted devices.
The ability to narrow down your reports is a great way to get more specific data. For instance, you could see how many people visited your website via campaign X, Y, or Z and during what time period. This would help you better understand your marketing efforts during that time period.
How many campaigns and ad sets are there?
A campaign is the top level account structure in Google Ads. A campaign can contain one or many ads, and it can target a specific audience.
An ad set is a collection of ads that are targeted to a similar audience and that have the same budget. For example, you may have one ad set targeting visitors to your website, and another targeting visitors to your landing page.
Many users find it difficult to manage multiple campaigns within the same account. It can be difficult to keep track of all of the campaigns, their settings, and their performance. This can make it hard to analyze data across all campaigns.
By linking only one campaign in your Analytics account, you would only receive data from that campaign. You would not receive any data from any other campaigns in your account.
What is the timeframe of the report?
In addition to the campaign title, you can also filter by the timeframe of the campaign. This is very useful if you run seasonal campaigns, or if you have a campaign that ran for several days or weeks.
By filtering by date, you can see how much you spent and what your conversion rate was per day, week, or month. This makes it very easy to break down your data by period.
For example, if you had a two week campaign that cost $5,000 and had a conversion rate of 5%, then your average spend per day was $250 and your average conversion rate per day was 1%.
This makes it easy to see what days had higher spends or conversions and why.